AWLA Awards & Recognition

At each annual conference, AWLA recognizes exceptional educators and leaders who exhibit an unwavering commitment to the advocacy, teaching, and learning of world languages. Please consider nominating a deserving colleague.  Awards are open to all educators and leaders in K-12 and Higher Ed unless otherwise indicated in the award description.

Winners will be announced at AWLA Conference 2018 in Mobile! Come join us!

Promising New World Language Teacher

Click here to nominate a Promising New World Language Teacher.

This award is to honor world language educators in their early careers who show exceptional developing abilities in the classroom. This category is open to individuals with less than three (3) years of service as a certified foreign language teacher.  Individuals currently serving as a teaching assistant, part-time teacher or as a substitute may also be considered, but service time in these types of positions will not count in calculating one’s total service time. Nominees for this award must demonstrate potential for excellence in world language teaching and evidence of promotion of world languages. Membership and active participation in AWLA is encouraged, but not required. 

AWLA Outstanding Administrator

Click here to nominate an Outstanding Administrator.

Nominees for this award should be a current administrator whose leadership has strengthened the status of world languages in his/her school/system's curriculum, who has worked at improving the quality of world language teaching. And/or who is an advocate of world language study. This recognition is intended not for language educators who are also administrators, but for administrators outside of our profession who exhibit exemplary support of world language study and teaching. 

Alabama Educator of Excellence (Post-Secondary)

Click here to nominate an Educator of Excellence (Post-Secondary).

This award recognizes educators at the post-secondary level including the community college, college and university level. Nominees for this award should exemplify excellence in language teaching, leadership and advocacy at the local, state, regional or national level. The winner of this award will be nominated by AWLA for the SCOLT Educator of Excellence Award

AWLA Teacher of the Year

Click here to nominate a Teacher of the Year.

The winner of this award will be chosen by the AWLA Board from the Teacher of the Year awardees selected by each of the respective state language associations: AATSP, AATF, AATG, ACA, and ACLTA.  Nominees should exemplify excellence in world language education, evidence of promotion of world language teaching and learning, professional involvement in the AWLA. The winner of this award will be nominated by AWLA for the SCOLT Teacher of the Year award.  

Special Recognitions

“Best of Alabama” Presentation

First Time Conference Presenter Stipend

First Time Attendee Stipend

Marlin Harris Award for Outstanding Service to the World Languages Profession

Click here to nominate for the Marlin Harris Outstanding Service Award.

This award recognizes an individual who has rendered extraordinary service over time to the world language profession and to Alabama World Languages Association (AWLA). Criteria include active membership in AWLA, or its predecessor organization, for a total of five (5) years during his/her career; has made innovative contributions to world language learning; has provided outstanding service to a World Language Profession, can include service to AWLA in any capacity; demonstrated outstanding leadership in a World Language Profession; and has worked & served in a World Language Profession, full or part-time basis, for at least five (5) years.  This award is not intended to be an annual award and is only given at the discretion of the AWLA Board. 

Previous AWLA Award winners


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software