Alabama World Language Association

The mission of the Alabama World Languages Association is to motivate educators to contribute to
and to advocate for improved world language education for all students at all levels.

AWLA Awards & Recognition

Each year, AWLA recognizes exceptional educators and leaders who exhibit an unwavering commitment to the advocacy, teaching, and learning of world languages. Please consider nominating a deserving colleague.  Awards are open to all educators and leaders in K-12 and Higher Ed unless otherwise indicated in the award description. 

Nominations for the 2024 AWLA Conference have concluded. Stay tuned for next year!
Please click the title of each award to view the nomination form.

AWLA Teachers of the Year

AWLA is excited to recognize more deserving world language educators in Alabama! A Teacher of the Year for each language represented in AWLA will be selected. The winners of this award will be chosen by the AWLA Voting Committee, Nominees should exemplify excellence in world language education, evidence of promotion of world language teaching and learning, and professional involvement in the AWLA. From this group of winners, one (1) AWLA Teacher of the Year will be nominated to represent Alabama for the SCOLT Teacher of the Year award.

Promising New Teacher

This award is to honor a world language educator in their early career who demonstrates exceptional developing abilities in the classroom. This category is open to individuals with less than three (3) years of service as a certified world language teacher. Individuals currently serving as a teaching assistant, part-time teacher or as a substitute may also be considered, but service time in these types of positions will not count in calculating one’s total service time. Nominees for this award must demonstrate potential for excellence in world language teaching and evidence of promotion of world languages. Membership and active participation in AWLA is encouraged, but not required. 

Friend of Languages Award

Nominees for this award should be a school administrator, staff member, individual, or organization whose leadership has strengthened the status of world languages in his/her local school/system, who has worked at improving the quality of world language teaching, and/or who is an advocate of world language study. This recognition is intended not for language educators but for those outside of our profession who exhibit exemplary support of world language study and teaching. 

Educators of Excellence (Post-Secondary)

This award recognizes educators representing each language in AWLA at the post-secondary level including the community college, college and university levels. Nominees for this award should exemplify excellence in language teaching, leadership and advocacy at the local, state, regional or national level. From this group of winners, one (1) AWLA Educator of Excellence will be nominated to represent Alabama for the SCOLT Educator of Excellence (Post-Secondary) Award

Marlin Harris Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes an individual who has rendered extraordinary service over time to the world language profession and to Alabama World Languages Association (AWLA). Criteria include active membership in AWLA, or its predecessor organization, for a total of five (5) years during his/her career; has made innovative contributions to world language learning; has provided outstanding service to a World Language Profession, can include service to AWLA in any capacity; demonstrated outstanding leadership in a World Language Profession; and has worked & served in a World Language Profession, full or part-time basis, for at least five (5) years.  This award is not intended to be an annual award and is only given at the discretion of the AWLA Board.

Special Recognitions

“Best of Alabama” Presentation

First Time Conference Presenter Stipend

First Time Attendee Stipend

Apply HERE for the First Time Attendee Stipend for the 2024 AWLA Conference at Thompson High School in Alabaster, Alabama (Feb. 16-17, 2024)

Previous AWLA Award Winners

20162017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software